Gluten Allergies – Intolerance to Protein-Rich Cereals

Gluten allergies are often similar to what is known as celiac disease, which cause persons affected with it to alter their consumption of certain healthy grains. Luckily, this condition is very manageable and requires few to moderate changes in the diet.

Gluten Allergies – Understanding Hypersensitivity to Glucose and their Causes

Gluten refers to the four basic proteins known as albumin, gliadin, globulin, and glutenin; these are found among grains such as in cereal. Gluten allergies mean that a person has increased sensitivity to the proteins found in barley, rye, wheat, and sometimes even oats. Having increased sensitivity towards gluten would mean that consumption of the said grains could lead to the damaging of the mucosal lining in the small intestine. Oftentimes, gluten allergies make it difficult to absorb specific vitamins and nutrients. Sensitivity to gluten is common in Western countries and can be hereditary; sometimes it would mean that a person is also required to make a dietary change that lasts for a lifetime.

Gluten Allergy Symptoms – What to Look Out For

Having intolerance towards gluten often causes a wide range of symptoms that may vary from one person to the other. Gluten allergy symptoms are caused by autoimmune reactions which may sometimes be mild, or extreme. Some people experience fewer symptoms although, the symptoms could also get worse when the person has an infection, is undergoing surgery, giving birth, and most especially, having emotional stress. Among the common gluten allergy symptoms include some, or a combination of symptoms such as fatigue, anemia, diarrhea, constipation, bloating, diverticulitis, recurrent mouth ulcers, and steatorrhea (passage of fatty stools). Individual symptoms may vary, so having one of the symptoms is not a confirmation of the allergy to gluten. In order for one to confirm on having glucose allergy, it is best to consult a physician so that proper testing may be done.

Gluten Diet – How to Avoid It

A gluten diet may consist of cereal, bread, cookies, matzo meal, or trail mix. Although these are good sources of protein and fiber, anything that contains gluten is not safe for those who have hypersensitivity to it. Many of the convenience foods such as beers, candies, pastas, gravies, sauces, and even salad dressings should be avoided unless they are labeled “gluten free”. Substitutions that are made of corn, soybeans, rice, or corn may aide in substituting a diet, which once has gluten especially for those who have allergy to it. Among the other available grains and starches that are allowed in the diet for those with allergy to gluten are buckwheat, arrowroot, tapioca, polenta, potatoes, and beans in order to have fewer symptoms.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *